So far, I haven’t written a negative book review. It is my way of following the old adage, “If you don’t have something good to say, don’t say anything.” My focus in a review is to give just enough information so that the reader can decide whether they should read they book.

With Sheena Iyengar’s book, “The Art of Choosing” it would be easy to mention a couple of her experiments and most people I am sure would want to read more. I’m not going to do that because her writing style is so clear that I don’t think I could convey her messages any better. (You can get a sample of her experiments in her TED talk.)

I could also mention some of her life story and what got her into studying how people make decisions, but that would take away a bit of the charm of the book. Iyengar is well-respected scientist who has written numerous journal articles. In her book, she successfully gives a lay explanation of her work. At the same, interspersed with the research, she explains how her own life events affected her. And that brings me to the reason I am recommending her book.

The best thing I can say about “The Art of Choosing” is that it will help you understand both your own decisions and those of others. Considering how much decisions affect who we are and what we do, it is clear that this book touches a very important part of life. It has been a few weeks since I finished reading Iyengar’s book, and I have found myself referring to it contents, both for myself and for others. And with this review, I am doing it again — read this book.

Title: The Art of Choosing
Author: Sheena Iyengar
ISBN: 978-0-446-50410-2
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
Year: 2010
Website: http://sheenaiyengar.com/

