There are a lot of reasons to write a book. Austin Kleon’s “Steal Like An Artist” is an advice/inspiration book that goes beyond the obvious target audience: artists. Although creativity is a big part of the book, much of what Kleon writes can be applied by any one and there is also quite a bit that really is for any one.

I was impressed that he has discovered that (in his words): “when people give you advice, they’re really just talking to themselves in the past.” I often hear people say, “I regret nothing.” For me, although I am happy with life, I now know I could have done somethings better. With that in mind, if I do build a time machine, I think I will go back and give myself some good advice. (Like build a time machine!)

If you want to gain a feel for the book, check out Austin Kleon’s TEDx talk. This LINK has the talk and a brief profile of the artist. The book has more.

Title: Steal Like An Artist
Author: Austin Kleon
Publisher: Workman Publishing
Copyright: 2012
ISBN: 978-0-7611-6925-3
Website (Publisher): http://www.workman.com
Website (Author): http://www.austinkleon.com

