On my list of authors that “I have to read one day” has been Urusula K. Le Guin. Having just finished Changing Planes, I wish I hadn’t waited so long. I found myself effortlessly carried away into the story.

Keeping with my book review style, I’m not going to go into any detail about the book’s content. I found her concept creative and her storytelling suberb. She has won herself another fan.

Of course, I’m not a great writer or critic, so if you need a more qualified endorsement, the back cover of the book has a quote from another author I admire. Marageret Atwood writes:

“All Le Guin’s stories are… metaphors for the human story; all her fantastic planets are this one. Le Guin is a quintessentially American writer, of the sort for whom the quest for the Peaceable Kingdom is ongoing.”

Title: Changing Planes
Author: Ursula K. Le Guin
Illustrator: Eric Beddows
Publisher: Harcourt Inc.
Copyright: 2003
ISBN: 0-15-100971-6
Website: http://www.HarcourtBooks.com

Author’s Website: http://www.ursulakleguin.com/

 

